Game crashes on device (iPad)

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by jermaine150, Nov 19, 2015.

1. jermaine150

jermaine150 Boxer

I'm fairly new to Buildbox and currently working on my first game for iOS.
    When i run the game in preview mode it runs like it should. When I export and run from XCode the game runs fine on the simulator and on my iPhone.
    However, when i start the game on my iPad it starts, shows the loading screen and then just stops. No crash information in XCode, Xcode just detects that my iPad is disconnect (which isn't the case).

Does anyone have an idea on where te look? I'm kind of lost because the app does run on the iPad simulator and on my iPhone.

DaveMalt likes this.
  2. darren

darren Avid Boxer

what model iPhone / iPad? No crash information? could it be a "jetsam [date/time].crash" which is low memory...one device probably has more memory. if crashing at start, then perhaps too many atlases...how many do you have?

3. jermaine150

jermaine150 Boxer

On iPhone 6s the application runs smooth. On a physical iPad 2 it crashes, or better said doesn't even start. In XCode is see the files loading in the output window and Xcode just stops with the message: Re-connect your device. On the iPad it shows the loading screen and just quits.

I've tried different iPad simulators and all work.

Unfortunately i'm very new to Buildbox and game development so I hope i understand your question correctly: In the Resources\data\atlases folder I count 17 atlases. (for every atlas a .plist and .png file)

Thanks!

4. mobile_gamegraphics

mobile_gamegraphics Boxer

I can only add that I have the exact same situation and issue. Ipad2 - Xcode run on ipad crashes.

5. Andy

Andy Miniboss Boxer