Publishers - what should we know?

Discussion in 'Advertising' started by Christoph, Oct 16, 2015.

1. Christoph

Christoph Miniboss Boxer

This is not really the right place, but didn't know where to ask. I will be releasing soon my first game and am thinking to send it to a publisher. Namely Ketchapp. Since I'm completely new in this I have a few questions:

1. Does it make sense?
    The number 1 game in the App-Store for already a few weeks is Smashy Road: Wanted. It is an independent, individual developer and he just made it from nothing. No need for a publisher it seems when the game is really good. I saw, that at the same time, not even Sky could enter the Top 10 and they had Ketchapp as a publisher. I know, that a lot of Buildbox games are in the half million downloads region. Sky had more than 2 million mainly because of Ketchapp... I also saw that Makibot hadn't much downloads at all and he now went with his new game the publisher route with Appsolute Games.

So how can you measure something like this? Take the risk or going the save route with a publisher?

2. What are the sharings?
    This one is simple. If I publish for myself, I have what? 30% go to Apple. That leaves me with 70% for myself minus taxes depending on which country you live in. I suppose with Google it's similar. But how much do I get with a publisher like Ketchapp? 35% minus taxes? Or do they charge less?

3. How to protect a game?
    I heard some terrible stories about Ketchapp releasing a similar game just days or weeks after someone submitted his own game. Are they true? And how can someone protect a game legally? I mean after weeks of developing, the last thing someone wants to happen is that some other guys steal the hard work (and the earnings).

4. Does it make any sense to publish first on my own account and then send it to Ketchapp?