Default Gameplay Type - Lock Star

Discussion in 'Gameplay' started by AceTrio, Oct 6, 2018.

1. AceTrio

AceTrio Boxer

(My version - BuildBox 2.3.6.0 - latest as of 7-Oct-2018)

Hey all!

I am new to BuildBox and I've gone through the basic tutorial videos as well as the Make Your Own Game videos. These videos give me good knowledge on the very basics of BB. But I'm still very confused about Characters / Objects and their attributes.

So i want to go through each of the default gameplay types to understand the logic behind each of them, starting with Lock Star.

Please help me with the below questions:

1) Can someone help summarise how the overall mechanics work?
    - I can vaguely understand how the mechanics work but am unable to pinpoint which object starts the whole chain action.

2) 'Lock Pop' Object:
    - Does this serve any functional purpose other than for the stylus character to move long the circle? If so can this be set to Decoration instead of Platform?

3) How does the Star randomly appear along the circular Lock Pop?

Thank you in advance.

Rgds,
    David

2. Frederik

Frederik Boxer

No one have replied, so I'll try to investigate it:

In my opinion chain reaction starts with 'World UI' where player controls are:

Action button - starts prepared action: 'Starts Game'
    Character button - function 'Shoot' - works with Star object (Spawner) - Spawns new Star when shooting
    Switch button - changes angular velocity of character (player) = 'Stylus' trough 'Advanced Move' component

Stylus is 'player' = character. Is off-center, so if rotate, acts like analog clock. Switch button is changing it's angular speed. His health is 500. Some components are not necessary here (Damage is not needed).

'Spins star' = rotates automatically, holds star spawner (Star) on link

If you turn on debug objects in preview mode, you can investigate more what is happening. For instance (3.) How star is randomly appearing.