An Honest Comparative Review Of Bb & Unity From A Complete Novice

Discussion in 'Buildbox General Discussion' started by ash_white, Jun 6, 2019.

1. ash_white

ash_white Boxer

Hi All,

First of all, apologies for the long post but I thought I’d share my personal experience and hopes for Buildbox now that I’ve been using it for a few months. To draw a true comparison I decided to work with two ‘engines’ on the same project in unison. This was to gauge the nuances between the two more accurately and ultimately highlight what would best suit my style of creating as I pursue a full-time career in game design.

Unity is an obvious choice for anyone serious in wanting to learn game dev, especially as it’s deemed an industry standard (I had already heard about it before I embarked on game dev myself actually which says a lot); but Buildbox is a really interesting product so I decided to try it out as it’s a relatively new kid on the block and presents a more simplistic approach to game creation, which was perfect for a newbie like me.

I would like to add that having worked with both now, I appreciate that they are completely different engines, serving different game styles for different audience types. My aim for this post is to highlight some pros and cons I’ve experienced with the hope that there will be some productive cross-pollination as fundamentally the goals for both Unity and Buildbox are the same… to help people make kick-ass games.

So here’s my general experience on both:

Buildbox On-boarding
    I found the demo games to be extremely helpful in that they gave me instant gratification that I had made progress from the offset. It was perfect for engagement as I could experience first hand capabilities of the engine and ultimately get inspired. The help panel is also great to get familiarised with the UI.

Unity On-boarding