Event Observer To Congratulation Player During A Scene

Discussion in 'How Can I...?' started by Colin MH, Feb 26, 2019.

1. Colin MH

Colin MH Boxer

Hi, this is my first post here. I am still quite new to BB.

My first source for anything technical is in this forum which is very helpful.

I have a technical issue which I hope someone can help me with.

I am working on a platform game where the player has to collect coins. At the end of the level, I use a menu jump to a separate UI to sort out if the player gets a star or just a normal level complete. I have attached a sample of my configuration. This seems to work well.

My issue is that I am trying to flash a message to congratulate the user during the scene itself if they hit the minimum number of coins, rather than wait till the level ends. At the beginning of each world, I used the Reset Coin toggle. However, I noticed that with my method, when the player dies after receiving the minimum coins and restarts the checkpoint, the congrats message still turns up even though the coins have reverted to the last checkpoint. The event observers are set to Session Coins. Hope someone can help me on this. Its really got me stumped.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1KQYTcjv2prExXuEzHnnFMgMHQOszkVJb

2. Codifie

Codifie Avid Boxer

3. Colin MH

Colin MH Boxer

Hi, thanks for trying. I gave it a go and it still doesn't work. What is odd is that the sample file is behaving correctly.

On my actual project, I set a minimum of 50 coins for the player to collect. During the level, once 50 is collected, the congrats message comes up. But say the character dies after collecting 55 coins and the checkpoint restarts to say when only 25 coins were collected, the congrats message still turns up. Needless to say, if the player reaches the end of the level with only 30 coins, he would have seen the congrats message incorrectly.

4. Colin MH

Colin MH Boxer

5. Codifie

Codifie Avid Boxer