How To Get A Publisher / Publishing Deal For Your Mobile Game

Discussion in 'Game Marketing' started by Gregory Storm, Jul 21, 2016.

1. Gregory Storm

Gregory Storm Avid Boxer

I’m an indie developer who has had multiple games hit the Top Charts. I have millions of downloads and tons of revenue under my belt, so earlier this year I decided to take all of that knowledge and real world experience and start a game publishing company.

Since we are now getting a lot of submissions, I wanted to share some of the things I’ve learned being on the publishing side of the fence. Hopefully this information is helpful as it relates to you getting a publisher to notice and potentially sign your game.

While my DOs & DON’Ts List might be particular to me and Storm Watch Games, some of the points should also apply to other game publishers.

The DOs

DO Create an amazing game! I know it’s easier said than done, but it needs to be said.

DO Create an amazing game that can make money. Even though we help our games with monetization strategy and optimization, some people create games as a hobby or as a personal expression of their art and don’t care about or think about how their game will monetize. We love those games as players of games, but as a business, there needs to be a way for the publisher to get a return on their investment or they will go out of business. Publishers going out of business will make baby unicorns cry and nobody wants to see that.

DO Include the name of your game somewhere in the subject line. Subject lines like “Game Publishing” or “Game Submission” without the name of the game are too generic. See our Game Submission E-mail Template for more details.

DO Tell us the name of your game. Seems pretty simple, but we get a lot of submissions that forget to name their game.

DO Tell us your name. You’re submitting your game to a business so provide a real contact name.