Getting rejected by Apple for a strange reason...

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by patrick_meyer, Mar 3, 2016.

1. appnoxious

appnoxious Boxer

I had two of my Buildbox app submissions get rejected today. They say the apps are backing up to iCloud when it isn't even enabled in the project. I have tried to appeal it but no luck after two expedited appeals. No changes have been made to the Xcode project after exporting from buildbox just submitted. I am new to buildbox but I am not new to development and have never been so confused by a rejection. The app shows it is not storing any data to iCloud and I have even shown the reviewer these screenshots from multiple devices. Anyone here have any advice?

Here is what Apple said:

From Apple
    • 2.23-Apps must follow the iOS Data Storage Guidelines or they will be rejected
    2.23 Details

On launch and content download, your app stores 6.35 MB on the user's iCloud, which does not comply with the iOS Data Storage Guidelines.

Next Steps

Please verify that only the content that the user creates using your app, e.g., documents, new files, edits, etc. is backed up by iCloud as required by the iOS Data Storage Guidelines. Also, check that any temporary files used by your app are only stored in the/tmp directory; please remember to remove or delete the files stored in this location when it is determined they are no longer needed.

Data that can be recreated but must persist for proper functioning of your app - or because users expect it to be available for offline use - should be marked with the "do not back up" attribute. For NSURL objects, add the NSURLIsExcludedFromBackupKey attribute to prevent the corresponding file from being backed up. For CFURLRef objects, use the corresponding kCRUFLIsExcludedFromBackupKey attribute.

Resources

To check how much data your app is storing:

- Install and launch your app
    - Go to Settings > iCloud > Storage > Manage Storage
    - Select your device