How To Make A Enemy Follow A Character

Discussion in 'How Can I...?' started by brecon1313, Aug 7, 2022.

1. brecon1313

brecon1313 Boxer

I'm very new to game design and coding in general so I wanted to see if anyone could help me with this. I am trying to make an enemy follow my character in a 2d game in Buildbox 3. I follow a Buildbox thread from a couple years ago and it got me in the write direction but it not exactly what I'm looking for. I attached an image of the current code. It is making the enemy follow the character, but it swings around it and goes through wall instead of just statically following the character. Any advice is greatly appreciated! :)

The thread I followed is "How Can I Make The Enemy Gravitate Towards The Character (actor)"

Attached Files:

2. Ivan Perfetti

Ivan Perfetti Avid Boxer

Hi there and welcome!
    I'm pretty sure you can find many discussions about this in the forum (try looking for "magnet" or "follow").
    I can see the logic in your node and given the fact you're new to coding this is not bad; the problem with this approach is that it slowly adjusts the entity position so it's not ideal, there are better solutions.
    A quick suggestion: when you use variables (like LR and UD) you should make sure to declare them first and when you end a line you should add a semicolon at the end of it.

To declare those two variables just write this on top of your script:
    Code:
    let LR;
    let UD;
    This make sure you avoid issues caused by undeclared variables.

About a better solution to the "follow" problem a very good and simple one is to calculate the direction vector between the following entity and the followed one and use that value as an input for a "Move in direction" node, that's an excellent node you can find prebuilt into Buildbox; this node usually takes a joystick input and is able to control the movement of the entity accordingly.