Is Buildbox Worth It?

Discussion in 'Buildbox General Discussion' started by cptcanuck, Aug 20, 2019.

1. cptcanuck

cptcanuck Boxer

So I have a few questions that I hope you can help me with. First, I'm a developer from way back...programming in languages most people have forgot or never heard of. My experience is with business systems and it's been a long while since I've actually developed anything other than Websites for friends and a few businesses. It's been about 20 years since I actually did coding as I have been working as QA Manager, Application Development Manager and I.T. Manager over the years. I want to get back to development and if lucky or even any good at it any more, possible make a modest living at it.

So the questions:
    1) I've heard a lot of mixed reviews about Buildbox and was wondering if it's worth trying out for someone as 'green' as myself?
    2) If I purchase the lowest tier, can I bump it up during the year if I find I need the next level plan?
    3) Am I in a dream world to think I can make a career of this building games with buildbox?
    4) Should I try something other than Buildbox?

Thank you in advance for your replies..

2. buildboxuser

buildboxuser Boxer

Yes sure, I do not see a reason why not. There was plans to offer free tier at some point, so you can wait, or try lowest tier.
    Please note that you won't be able to build any crazy idea you want, if there is no pre-built "function" or "asset" for this. Making such assets is possible, but quite complex for someone 'green', there is no market to buy assets - you can scan over forums to find some (I guess asset store is what made unity very popular) and tool/API's sometimes quite limited. If you are fine with existing building blocks - then it is simplest engine I saw. You can build something by only using drag and drop.

I assume this won't be an issue.