How to succeed in the Appstore?

Discussion in 'Game Marketing' started by Christoph, Nov 20, 2015.

1. Christoph

Christoph Miniboss Boxer

I know this is something that shouldn't be asked and hope I don't break any taboos in a bad way. But since I'm new to the game industry I want to know everything related to it. I also hope that with the help from one indie developer to the other we can have more success as individuals.

The question that bothers me for some time now:
    How can we succeed in the Appstore and get the most downloads possible?

Buildbox Games already released 3 games and none could make it to a feature in the US. The download stats are about 1,000-10,000 for each game for which I think Shadows is the one with the most downloads (more than 150,000). It was also the most featured (mostly in Latin America). The success of Shadows didn't seem to impact the downloads for the new game Dot Lines even though it is cross promoted in the other games. What is happening?

Almost Impossible has a little more than 5,000 downloads. Since it is paid, at least there is a certain income, but no feature either. Other games like Makibot, Survival or even the new Bouncy Bit Go have only several hundreds downloads. After several weeks or month of work, this seems to be absolute failure, at least economically speaking.

The only games with success seem to be the ones published by Ketchapp (over 1,000,000 downloads, some even more than 5,000,000). Appsolute Games seem to have less success with 500,000 to 1,000,000 downloads.

I strongly believe that several Buildbox games are very good games and some others are not. But for example Bouncy Bit Go, Darthy or Dot Lines should have definitely much more downloads the first days as they have of right now. Is this simply the cruel reality? What can or should we do better to have more success? I can't believe the results and if this will happen to me, I for sure will not be able to survive in this industry.